Fourth of July- Independence Day, “Proud to be an American, where at least I know I am free”

The eighties were magical.  Lee Greenwood’s hit “God Bless the USA” was always played during this holiday.  I have to say, its 5:30 on July 4th, 2017 and I haven’t heard it once…today, yesterday, last week, heck, any time in 2017.

This song meant freedom.  It gave me and my siblings a sense of knowledge and pride to be a US born citizen.  My father was in the service.  My uncle was drafted in Vietnam.  Both my grandfathers were in WWII.  I am lucky to be alive and born with such freedoms others dream of.

Our country isn’t perfect, by any means. Sometimes I think we are so screwed up, just making things worse.  Then, I remember how BD and me have watched the “Sons of Liberty” series on the History Channel and “John Adams” on either Netflix or Amazon Prime.  That’s when it feels more real–the sense of fighting for true freedoms.

My eighties were filled with July 4th parties that always took place at my family’s home.  We had a pool, a dozen cousins, family friends, and my aunt Barb, who was always the life of the party.  Four wheelers, tons of food, always cake, and big 2 liters of pop surrounded by people gathered in a garage–and no central air and everyone was fine, by the way, and everyone was having fun.  Too much fun to care about life’s daily dramas and battles.  No one worked—well, maybe my cousin, who was a candy striper at the time, studying to be a nurse.  Otherwise, the fourth was a day off.  There were parades every year to see, candy to gather, and family to come over and fireworks.  Tons of fireworks.  It was such a big deal, and now, I haven’t been to a party with fireworks in probably 20 years.  I am old enough now to get pissed at the idiots who fire off their $200 stash at 11:30 3 days before the fourth and 3 days after…still blowing off fireworks.

When we were young…fireworks were just for Independence day.  If we had some left over, it would have been little bottle rockets for maybe another day or another party, well down the road.

Maybe I’m an old fuddy-duddy now, but I see Independence day as a day off.  A time to take a nap this year. (What’s different from other days?)  The fourth of July is a time I know I can see my parents, and this year I did.  I saw my brother and my sister and talked to my other sister.  I checked the air pressure in my tires.  I vacummed my car.  I took pride in what I have and what is mine–what I can do because I live in the land of the free, because of the brave.

 

Leave a Reply

